Shackleford, Phillips & Ratcliff, P.A. has joined PPGMR Law, PLLC.

call 501.603.9000 menu

Julie DeWoody Greathouse

← Back to attorneys Photo of Julie DeWoody Greathouse

Julie DeWoody Greathouse is managing member at PPGMR Law. Before joining the firm in 2000, Ms. Greathouse served as law clerk to Justice Robert L. Brown on the Arkansas Supreme Court. She is a 1999 graduate of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock School of Law, where she served as Survey/Comments Editor of the Law Review and was a member of the National Trial Team and the Moot Court Board. She earned her bachelor's degree at Harding University where she graduated magna cum laude in 1996.

Ms. Greathouse is admitted to practice in Arkansas and before the US District Court, Eastern and Western Districts of Arkansas, and Northern District of California, the Court of Federal Claims, the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth and Federal Circuits, and the United States Supreme Court. Ms. Greathouse regularly participates in civil litigation in state and federal courts, at both the trial and appellate level.  Ms. Greathouse has developed ableness as a litigator and appellate attorney and enjoys an active practice in Arkansas and various federal courts of appeal.

Ms. Greathouse, along with her appellate team and client counsel, won a unanimous (8-0) decision from the United States Supreme Court in the case of Arkansas Game and Fish Commission v. United States of America, 133 S. Ct. 511 (2012), a Fifth Amendment takings case in which she served as lead trial and appellate counsel. 

She also served as Special Associate Justice on the Arkansas Supreme Court in the case of Baptist v. Murphy, 2010 Ark. 358 (2010), in which she authored a concurring opinion joined by Justice Brown and Special Associate Justice Ellis.


The Best Lawyers in America, a Thomson Reuters Service, 2013-2023 (Appellate Practice; Environmental Law; Litigation-Environmental) 2020-2023 (Commercial Litigation)

Best Lawyers, Lawyer of the Year: Litigation - Environmental; and Environmental Law, 2018, 2022, 2023

Arkansas Bar Association, Golden Gavel award, 2019-2020

Arkansas 250: Arkansas’ Most Influential Leaders, Arkansas Business Publishing Group, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023

Mid-South Super Lawyers, a Thomson Reuters Service, Top 50:  2021-2022 Women Mid-South Super Lawyers (Civil Litigation)

Mid-South Super Lawyers, a Thomson Reuters Service, Top 50:  2021-2022 Arkansas Super Lawyers (Civil Litigation)

Mid-South Super Lawyers, a Thomson Reuters Service, 2013-2022 (Environmental Litigation; Energy & Natural Resources)

Mid-South Super Lawyers, Rising Star, a Thomson Reuters Service, 2008-2012 (Environmental Litigation; Appellate Practice; Energy & Natural Resources)

Arkansas Money & Politics:  Legal Elite, 2021; Influencers of the Year, 2024

Bar Admission

U.S. District Court Eastern District of Arkansas
U.S. District Court Western District of Arkansas
United States Court of Federal Claims
U.S. Court of Appeals 8th Circuit
U.S. Court of Appeals Federal Circuit
U.S. Supreme Court
U.S. District Court Eastern District of Wisconsin
U.S. District Court Northern District of California


Fellow Member of the Arkansas Bar Foundation
American Bar Association; Sections: Litigation; Environment, Energy & Resources; Law Practice Mgt.
Arkansas Bar Association; Sections; Environmental Law; Natural Resources Law
Pulaski County Bar Association
Court of Federal Claims Bar Association


University of Arkansas at Little Rock School of Law, Little Rock, AR, 1999, Juris Doctor
University of Arkansas at Little Rock Law Review, Survey/Comments Editor; Moot Court Board Member; National Trial Team Member
Harding University, 1996, B.S., Magna cum laude

Public Service

Arkansas Advisory Committee to the United States Commission on Civil Rights, Committee Member
Arkansas Advisory Council for the Education of Gifted and Talented Children, Council Member
Arkansas Bar Foundation Development, Committee Member, 2017-18
Arkansas Advocates for Children and Families
Fulbright Elementary PTA, Board Member, 2013 to present
Pulaski Academy, Board of Trustees